Broil King Keg Forum
September 24, 2018, 04:11:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Please Help  (Read 290 times)
Walleye1273

« on: June 25, 2018, 10:32:28 AM »

First of all I am sorry for posting this in the Whats Cooking Forum but I think thats my best chance for it to be read as the other threads seem to be inactive.

I am new to using the Keg and as crazy as this sounds I cannot seem to light it properly to maintain a decent 5 or 6 hour fire.  I mound the charcoal in the middle and I have tried lighting it in 3 or 4 different places, I have tried just lighting it on the very top of the pyramid and I have also tried lighting it at the very bottom and no matter what I do I seem to lose my fire.

I wouldn't dare leave my house for more the 30 mins while it is cooking or it will go out on me.

I talked to the Broil King Chef at a show last weekend and he recommended a specific charcoal and offered different advice which I have followed and it still doesn't seem to work for me.

My ultimate goal is to do long low and slow cooks of shoulders and briskets but at this point I don't think I would be able to do it without sitting directly beside the unit and even then I fear it will go out.

Any help you veteran keggers could offer me would be greatly appreciated
Shawn W
2x Hero of the Month, 5x Throwdown Champion
Superhero Member

« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 11:02:16 AM »

Welcome!

Let's back up a bit and go through some standard stuff.

What keg model do you have?

What kind of charcoal are you using and is it lump or briquette? How much are you putting in the keg?

Do you have the top and bottom vents open? How much?

How well lit is the charcoal before you close the lid?
Walleye1273

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 11:19:10 AM »

I have the Keg 5000